Banking · Savings
Savings accounts compared
Quick answer: online banks led our check, with a median verified APY of 3.83%. On $10,000, the difference between 4.20% and 0.01% is about $419 a year.
Every figure checked on the bank’s or credit union’s own website on . By the SmartRates Editorial Team.
Accounts listed
25
23 with a readable APY
Highest verified APY
4.20%
Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)
Median verified APY
3.75%
No-strings accounts
6
No fee, no promo, no conditions
All savings accounts, by APY
Sorted by the published top APY. Interest examples assume the APY holds for a full year, which variable rates rarely do. Use the compound interest calculator for your own balance.
#1 · Online bank · FDIC
Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)
LevelUp Savings
- APY
- 4.20%Base 3.00%
- Rate as of
- Oct 31, 2026
- Monthly fee
- Not stated
- Min. to open
- $0
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $420
Conditions: 4.20% APY with $250+ in monthly deposits; standard rate 3.00% APY.
lendingclub.com now redirects to happen.com; deposits are provided by Happen Bank, N.A., Member FDIC. Monthly fee not stated on the page we checked.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#2 · Online bank · FDIC
Bread Savings
High-Yield Savings Account
- APY
- 4.05%
- Rate as of
- Nov 1, 2026
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $100
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $405
$100 minimum opening deposit; balances up to $1 million.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#3 · Online bank · FDIC
Axos Bank
Summit Savings
- APY
- 4.01%Promo
- Rate as of
- Nov 1, 2026
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $401
Conditions: 'Up to' rate for up to 6 months includes a 0.26% new-customer boost.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#4 · Online bank · FDIC
UFB Direct
Portfolio Savings
- APY
- 4.01%Promo
- Rate as of
- Not shown
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $401
Conditions: 'Up to' rate for up to 6 months with a promo code.
Page did not show an as-of date for the rate.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#5 · Online bank · FDIC
Vio Bank
Online Savings Account
- APY
- 4.01%
- Rate as of
- Oct 23, 2026
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $100
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $401
Conditions: Same APY on all balances.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#6 · Online bank · FDIC
Live Oak Bank
Personal High Yield Savings
- APY
- 4.00%
- Rate as of
- Oct 26, 2026
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $400
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#7 · Online bank · FDIC
Sallie Mae Bank
High-Yield Savings
- APY
- 4.00%
- Rate as of
- Nov 2, 2026
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $400
The bank's page stated its rate was accurate as of 11/02/2026 when we read it on 11/01/2026.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#8 · Online bank · FDIC
Popular Direct
Exclusive Savings
- APY
- 3.90%
- Rate as of
- Not shown
- Monthly fee
- Not stated
- Min. to open
- $100
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $390
Read from the bank's homepage; the product page returned an error.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#9 · Online bank · FDIC
CIT Bank
Platinum Savings
- APY
- 3.75%Base 0.25%
- Rate as of
- Jul 1, 2026
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $100
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $375
Conditions: 3.75% APY on balances of $5,000+; 0.25% APY below $5,000.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#10 · App-based (fintech) · FDIC
Varo Bank
Savings Account
- APY
- 3.75%Base 1.00%
- Rate as of
- Oct 5, 2026
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $375
Conditions: 3.75% APY on up to $5,000 when monthly qualifications are met; otherwise 1.00% APY.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#11 · Online bank · FDIC
Synchrony Bank
High Yield Savings
- APY
- 3.75%
- Rate as of
- Nov 1, 2026
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $375
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#12 · Online bank · FDIC
E*TRADE (Morgan Stanley Private Bank)
Premium Savings
- APY
- 3.75%
- Rate as of
- Nov 1, 2026
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $375
Conditions: Base APY. A separate limited-time promotion is advertised; see the bank's terms.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#13 · Online bank · FDIC
Barclays
Tiered Savings
- APY
- 3.65%
- Rate as of
- Oct 7, 2026
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $365
Conditions: Top tier ('up to'); lower balances earn less.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#14 · Online bank · FDIC
Marcus by Goldman Sachs
Online Savings Account
- APY
- 3.50%
- Rate as of
- Nov 1, 2026
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $350
Bank page says no fees and no minimum deposit; maximum balance limits apply. A referral rate boost is advertised separately and is not included here.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#15 · Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
U.S. Bank
Bank Smartly Savings
- APY
- 3.50%
- Rate as of
- Not shown
- Monthly fee
- $5
- Min. to open
- $25
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $350
Conditions: 'Up to' rate requires qualifying relationship balances; standard rates are much lower.
Page did not show an as-of date for the rate.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#16 · Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
Citibank
Citi Savings
- APY
- 3.50%Base 0.05%
- Rate as of
- Nov 1, 2026
- Monthly fee
- Not stated
- Min. to open
- Not stated
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $350
Conditions: 3.50% 'Premium Boost' APY requires a Regular Checking account and Required Activities (e.g. $5,000 in direct deposits/qualifying transactions); standard APY 0.05%.
Monthly fee depends on relationship tier; not captured.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#17 · App-based (fintech) · FDIC
Upgrade
Premier Savings
- APY
- 3.30%
- Rate as of
- Sep 18, 2026
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $330
Conditions: APY applies to balances of $1,000+.
Upgrade is not a bank; deposits are held at partner banks.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#18 · App-based (fintech) · FDIC
SoFi Bank
Savings (with Checking)
- APY
- 3.30%
- Rate as of
- Oct 20, 2026
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $330
Conditions: Requires eligible direct deposit or qualifying deposits; limited-time boosts may be advertised separately.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#19 · Online bank · FDIC
American Express National Bank
High Yield Savings Account
- APY
- 3.20%
- Rate as of
- Nov 1, 2026
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $320
No minimum balance; minimum opening deposit not stated as a dollar figure on the page we checked.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#20 · Online bank · FDIC
FNBO Direct
Online Savings
- APY
- 3.00%
- Rate as of
- Not shown
- Monthly fee
- Not stated
- Min. to open
- Not stated
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $300
Conditions: Same rate regardless of balance.
Read from the bank's homepage; the product page returned an error.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#21 · Online bank · FDIC
Citizens Access
Savings
- APY
- 2.80%
- Rate as of
- Jul 17, 2026
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $280
Conditions: Same APY on all balance tiers.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#22 · Branch bank / credit union · NCUA
Navy Federal Credit Union
Basic Savings
- APY
- 0.25%
- Rate as of
- Nov 1, 2026
- Monthly fee
- Not stated
- Min. to open
- Not stated
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $25
Credit union membership required. Fee and opening deposit not captured.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#23 · Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
Wells Fargo
Way2Save Savings
- APY
- 0.01%
- Rate as of
- Not shown
- Monthly fee
- $5
- Min. to open
- $25
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $1
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
| # | Bank & account | APY | Rate as of | Monthly fee | Min. to open | 1 yr on $10,000 | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)LevelUp SavingsOnline bank · FDIC4.20% APY with $250+ in monthly deposits; standard rate 3.00% APY. | 4.20%Base 3.00% | Oct 31, 2026 | Not stated | $0 | ≈ $420 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 2 | Bread SavingsHigh-Yield Savings AccountOnline bank · FDIC | 4.05% | Nov 1, 2026 | $0 | $100 | ≈ $405 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 3 | Axos BankSummit SavingsOnline bank · FDIC'Up to' rate for up to 6 months includes a 0.26% new-customer boost. | 4.01%Promo | Nov 1, 2026 | $0 | $0 | ≈ $401 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 4 | UFB DirectPortfolio SavingsOnline bank · FDIC'Up to' rate for up to 6 months with a promo code. | 4.01%Promo | Not shown | $0 | $0 | ≈ $401 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 5 | Vio BankOnline Savings AccountOnline bank · FDICSame APY on all balances. | 4.01% | Oct 23, 2026 | $0 | $100 | ≈ $401 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 6 | Live Oak BankPersonal High Yield SavingsOnline bank · FDIC | 4.00% | Oct 26, 2026 | $0 | $0 | ≈ $400 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 7 | Sallie Mae BankHigh-Yield SavingsOnline bank · FDIC | 4.00% | Nov 2, 2026 | $0 | Not stated | ≈ $400 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 8 | Popular DirectExclusive SavingsOnline bank · FDIC | 3.90% | Not shown | Not stated | $100 | ≈ $390 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 9 | CIT BankPlatinum SavingsOnline bank · FDIC3.75% APY on balances of $5,000+; 0.25% APY below $5,000. | 3.75%Base 0.25% | Jul 1, 2026 | $0 | $100 | ≈ $375 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 10 | Varo BankSavings AccountApp-based (fintech) · FDIC3.75% APY on up to $5,000 when monthly qualifications are met; otherwise 1.00% APY. | 3.75%Base 1.00% | Oct 5, 2026 | $0 | $0 | ≈ $375 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 11 | Synchrony BankHigh Yield SavingsOnline bank · FDIC | 3.75% | Nov 1, 2026 | $0 | $0 | ≈ $375 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 12 | E*TRADE (Morgan Stanley Private Bank)Premium SavingsOnline bank · FDICBase APY. A separate limited-time promotion is advertised; see the bank's terms. | 3.75% | Nov 1, 2026 | $0 | $0 | ≈ $375 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 13 | BarclaysTiered SavingsOnline bank · FDICTop tier ('up to'); lower balances earn less. | 3.65% | Oct 7, 2026 | $0 | $0 | ≈ $365 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 14 | Marcus by Goldman SachsOnline Savings AccountOnline bank · FDIC | 3.50% | Nov 1, 2026 | $0 | $0 | ≈ $350 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 15 | U.S. BankBank Smartly SavingsBranch bank / credit union · FDIC'Up to' rate requires qualifying relationship balances; standard rates are much lower. | 3.50% | Not shown | $5 | $25 | ≈ $350 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 16 | CitibankCiti SavingsBranch bank / credit union · FDIC3.50% 'Premium Boost' APY requires a Regular Checking account and Required Activities (e.g. $5,000 in direct deposits/qualifying transactions); standard APY 0.05%. | 3.50%Base 0.05% | Nov 1, 2026 | Not stated | Not stated | ≈ $350 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 17 | UpgradePremier SavingsApp-based (fintech) · FDICAPY applies to balances of $1,000+. | 3.30% | Sep 18, 2026 | $0 | Not stated | ≈ $330 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 18 | SoFi BankSavings (with Checking)App-based (fintech) · FDICRequires eligible direct deposit or qualifying deposits; limited-time boosts may be advertised separately. | 3.30% | Oct 20, 2026 | $0 | $0 | ≈ $330 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 19 | American Express National BankHigh Yield Savings AccountOnline bank · FDIC | 3.20% | Nov 1, 2026 | $0 | Not stated | ≈ $320 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 20 | FNBO DirectOnline SavingsOnline bank · FDICSame rate regardless of balance. | 3.00% | Not shown | Not stated | Not stated | ≈ $300 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 21 | Citizens AccessSavingsOnline bank · FDICSame APY on all balance tiers. | 2.80% | Jul 17, 2026 | $0 | Not stated | ≈ $280 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 22 | Navy Federal Credit UnionBasic SavingsBranch bank / credit union · NCUA | 0.25% | Nov 1, 2026 | Not stated | Not stated | ≈ $25 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 23 | Wells FargoWay2Save SavingsBranch bank / credit union · FDIC | 0.01% | Not shown | $5 | $25 | ≈ $1 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
Accounts where we could not read the rate
Listed for fees and minimums. Check the bank’s page for the live APY.
Online bank · FDIC
Ally Bank
Online Savings Account
- APY
- Not shown
- Rate as of
- Not shown
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
APY is loaded dynamically and could not be read; check Ally's page for the current rate.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
Chase
Chase Savings
- APY
- Not shown
- Rate as of
- Not shown
- Monthly fee
- $5
- Min. to open
- Not stated
APY depends on ZIP code and was not shown; check Chase's page.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
| Bank & account | APY | Rate as of | Monthly fee | Min. to open | 1 yr on $10,000 | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ally BankOnline Savings AccountOnline bank · FDIC | Not shown | Not shown | $0 | $0 | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| ChaseChase SavingsBranch bank / credit union · FDIC | Not shown | Not shown | $5 | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
How to pick a savings account
Compare the rate you will actually earn
If a headline rate needs $250 a month in deposits, a $5,000 balance or a linked checking account, work out whether you will meet that every month. If not, compare the base rate instead. Promotional rates that expire after a few months are worth less than a slightly lower rate with no end date.
Check fees and minimums
A $5 monthly fee costs $60 a year, which wipes out the interest on a $2,000 balance at 3%. Most online savings accounts in our table charge no monthly fee; some branch-bank accounts do unless you meet a waiver.
Make sure the money is insured
Banks should be FDIC members and credit unions NCUA-insured. Coverage is $250,000 per depositor, per institution, per ownership category. App-based services that are not banks hold deposits at partner banks, and coverage depends on those arrangements.
Think about access
Online savings usually links to an outside checking account by ACH transfer, which can take a few business days. Keep a small cushion in checking so you are never waiting on a transfer to pay a bill.
Related
Frequently asked questions
What is a good savings account APY right now?
Compare against two benchmarks: the FDIC national average savings rate on our rates page, and the top rates in the table above. An account paying several times the national average with no fee and no conditions is competitive; a rate near the national average usually is not.
What does APY mean?
Annual percentage yield is the interest you would earn over a year including compounding, expressed as a percentage of your balance. Because it already includes compounding, you can compare APYs directly across banks.
Why do some accounts show two rates?
Some banks pay a higher top rate only when you meet conditions such as monthly deposits, a minimum balance or a linked checking account, and a lower base rate otherwise. We show both when the bank published both.
Are savings account rates fixed?
No. Savings APYs are variable, so the bank can raise or lower them at any time. If you want to lock a rate, compare certificates of deposit (CDs), which pay a fixed rate for a set term.
How many withdrawals can I make from savings?
Federal Regulation D no longer requires a six-per-month limit, but many banks still set their own limits or fees on transfers out of savings. Check the account agreement.
Why are some APYs “Not shown”?
Some banks load rates with scripts, show rates only after you enter a ZIP code, or returned errors when we checked. We list the account so you can compare fees and minimums, but we will not guess its rate.