Banking · Comparison
Best checking accounts with no monthly fee
Quick answer: 11 accounts we checked state a $0 monthly fee, including branch options at Fifth Third Bank, Huntington Bank, Navy Federal Credit Union. If you want interest too, Ally Bank, Axos Bank, American Express National Bank published a rate.
Every figure checked on the bank’s or credit union’s own website on . By the SmartRates Editorial Team.
Accounts stating a $0 monthly fee
Online bank · FDIC
Capital One
360 Checking
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
Tiered-rate interest account (rates effective 10/30/2026 per page); APY values could not be read. Discover checking pages now redirect here.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Online bank · FDIC
Ally Bank
Spending Account
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
- APY
- 0.25%Base 0.10%
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Online bank · FDIC
Charles Schwab Bank
Bank Investor Checking
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
Opened with a linked Schwab One brokerage account. No foreign transaction fees per page.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Online bank · FDIC
Axos Bank
Axos ONE Checking
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
- APY
- 0.51%Base 0.%
No monthly maintenance, opening, or overdraft fees; no minimum balance (per page).
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
App-based (fintech) · FDIC
Varo Bank
Bank Account
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
No monthly, minimum balance, or overdraft fees per page.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
App-based (fintech) · FDIC
Upgrade
Rewards Checking Preferred
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
Free to open, no minimum balance requirement; cash-back debit rewards with conditions. Upgrade is not a bank; deposits held at partner banks.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Online bank · FDIC
American Express National Bank
Rewards Checking
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
- APY
- 1.00%
Applications currently limited to existing Amex Card Members per page.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Online bank · NCUA
PenFed Credit Union
Free Checking
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
No minimum balances per page. Membership required.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
Fifth Third Bank
Momentum Checking
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
No monthly fee, no minimum balance, no minimum deposit per page.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
Huntington Bank
Asterisk-Free Checking
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
Free to open, no balance requirements per page.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Branch bank / credit union · NCUA
Navy Federal Credit Union
Free EveryDay Checking
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
No monthly service fee, no minimum balance per page. Membership required.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
| Bank & account | Monthly fee | How to avoid it / notes | Min. to open | APY | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capital One360 CheckingOnline bank · FDIC | $0 | Tiered-rate interest account (rates effective 10/30/2026 per page); APY values could not be read. Discover checking pages now redirect here. | $0 | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Ally BankSpending AccountOnline bank · FDIC | $0 | — | $0 | 0.25%Base 0.10% | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Charles Schwab BankBank Investor CheckingOnline bank · FDIC | $0 | Opened with a linked Schwab One brokerage account. No foreign transaction fees per page. | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Axos BankAxos ONE CheckingOnline bank · FDIC | $0 | No monthly maintenance, opening, or overdraft fees; no minimum balance (per page). | Not stated | 0.51%Base 0.% | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Varo BankBank AccountApp-based (fintech) · FDIC | $0 | No monthly, minimum balance, or overdraft fees per page. | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| UpgradeRewards Checking PreferredApp-based (fintech) · FDIC | $0 | Free to open, no minimum balance requirement; cash-back debit rewards with conditions. Upgrade is not a bank; deposits held at partner banks. | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| American Express National BankRewards CheckingOnline bank · FDIC | $0 | Applications currently limited to existing Amex Card Members per page. | $0 | 1.00% | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| PenFed Credit UnionFree CheckingOnline bank · NCUA | $0 | No minimum balances per page. Membership required. | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Fifth Third BankMomentum CheckingBranch bank / credit union · FDIC | $0 | No monthly fee, no minimum balance, no minimum deposit per page. | $0 | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Huntington BankAsterisk-Free CheckingBranch bank / credit union · FDIC | $0 | Free to open, no balance requirements per page. | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Navy Federal Credit UnionFree EveryDay CheckingBranch bank / credit union · NCUA | $0 | No monthly service fee, no minimum balance per page. Membership required. | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
Which one fits you
You want a branch nearby
Fifth Third Bank (Momentum Checking), Huntington Bank (Asterisk-Free Checking), Navy Federal Credit Union (Free EveryDay Checking) state a $0 monthly fee and have branch networks. Navy Federal requires credit union membership.
You want your checking to earn something
Ally Bank Spending Account, Axos Bank Axos ONE Checking, American Express National Bank Rewards Checking published an interest rate. Check the conditions: some rates apply only above a balance tier or when monthly requirements are met.
You invest with a brokerage
Schwab Bank Investor Checking is opened with a linked Schwab One brokerage account, and its page states no foreign transaction fees, which can help frequent travelers.
Accounts that charge a monthly fee (and how to avoid it)
These can still cost $0 if you meet the waiver every month.
Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
Chase
Total Checking
- Monthly fee
- $15
- Min. to open
- Not stated
Fee / waiver: $0 with qualifying electronic deposits of $500+ or other listed options.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
Wells Fargo
Everyday Checking
- Monthly fee
- $15
- Min. to open
- Not stated
Fee / waiver: Several ways to avoid the $15 fee (see bank page).
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
U.S. Bank
Bank Smartly Checking
- Monthly fee
- $12
- Min. to open
- $25
- APY
- 0.001%
Fee / waiver: Waived the first two months; other waiver options listed.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
TD Bank
TD Complete Checking
- Monthly fee
- $15
- Min. to open
- Not stated
Fee / waiver: Multiple ways to waive (see bank page); student option for ages 17–23 has no monthly fee.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
Regions Bank
LifeGreen Checking
- Monthly fee
- See bank
- Min. to open
- $25
Fee / waiver: Page lists monthly fee as $0, $8 or $11 depending on statement type and how you avoid it.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
Truist
Truist One Checking
- Monthly fee
- $12
- Min. to open
- $50
Fee / waiver: $12 or $0; options to waive listed on page.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
| Bank & account | Monthly fee | How to avoid it / notes | Min. to open | APY | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChaseTotal CheckingBranch bank / credit union · FDIC | $15 | $0 with qualifying electronic deposits of $500+ or other listed options. | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Wells FargoEveryday CheckingBranch bank / credit union · FDIC | $15 | Several ways to avoid the $15 fee (see bank page). | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| U.S. BankBank Smartly CheckingBranch bank / credit union · FDIC | $12 | Waived the first two months; other waiver options listed. | $25 | 0.001% | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| TD BankTD Complete CheckingBranch bank / credit union · FDIC | $15 | Multiple ways to waive (see bank page); student option for ages 17–23 has no monthly fee. | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Regions BankLifeGreen CheckingBranch bank / credit union · FDIC | See bank | Page lists monthly fee as $0, $8 or $11 depending on statement type and how you avoid it. | $25 | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| TruistTruist One CheckingBranch bank / credit union · FDIC | $12 | $12 or $0; options to waive listed on page. | $50 | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
Related
Frequently asked questions
Is “free checking” really free?
A $0 monthly maintenance fee does not mean every service is free. Out-of-network ATMs, wires, paper statements, cashier’s checks and overdrafts can still cost money. Read the fee schedule.
Which no-fee checking accounts pay interest?
In our check, Amex Rewards Checking (for existing Card Members), Axos ONE (boosted rate when requirements are met) and Ally Spending (tiered) published interest rates. Rates are variable.
Are online checking accounts safe?
Online banks that are FDIC members carry the same deposit insurance as branch banks: $250,000 per depositor, per bank, per ownership category. Credit unions are insured by the NCUA.
Do I need a direct deposit for a no-fee account?
Not for the accounts that state a $0 monthly fee, but some extras (like boosted APYs or early direct deposit) require one. Fee-charging accounts often waive the fee if you have a qualifying direct deposit.