Banking · Checking
Checking accounts compared
Quick answer: 11 of the 17 checking accounts we checked state a $0 monthly fee. Chase, Wells Fargo, U.S. Bank, TD Bank, Truist charge $12–$15 a month unless you meet a waiver, such as a minimum direct deposit or balance.
Every figure checked on the bank’s or credit union’s own website on . By the SmartRates Editorial Team.
Accounts listed
17
$0 monthly fee
11
Charge a fee
5
All list ways to waive it
Highest fee we saw
$15
per month, before waivers
All checking accounts
No-monthly-fee accounts first, then accounts with a fee. Fee waivers are summarized from each bank’s page; read the bank’s fee schedule for the exact rules.
Online bank · FDIC
Capital One
360 Checking
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
Tiered-rate interest account (rates effective 10/30/2026 per page); APY values could not be read. Discover checking pages now redirect here.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Online bank · FDIC
Ally Bank
Spending Account
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
- APY
- 0.25%Base 0.10%
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Online bank · FDIC
Charles Schwab Bank
Bank Investor Checking
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
Opened with a linked Schwab One brokerage account. No foreign transaction fees per page.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Online bank · FDIC
Axos Bank
Axos ONE Checking
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
- APY
- 0.51%Base 0.%
No monthly maintenance, opening, or overdraft fees; no minimum balance (per page).
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
App-based (fintech) · FDIC
Varo Bank
Bank Account
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
No monthly, minimum balance, or overdraft fees per page.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
App-based (fintech) · FDIC
Upgrade
Rewards Checking Preferred
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
Free to open, no minimum balance requirement; cash-back debit rewards with conditions. Upgrade is not a bank; deposits held at partner banks.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Online bank · FDIC
American Express National Bank
Rewards Checking
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
- APY
- 1.00%
Applications currently limited to existing Amex Card Members per page.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Online bank · NCUA
PenFed Credit Union
Free Checking
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
No minimum balances per page. Membership required.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
Fifth Third Bank
Momentum Checking
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
No monthly fee, no minimum balance, no minimum deposit per page.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
Huntington Bank
Asterisk-Free Checking
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
Free to open, no balance requirements per page.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Branch bank / credit union · NCUA
Navy Federal Credit Union
Free EveryDay Checking
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
No monthly service fee, no minimum balance per page. Membership required.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
Chase
Total Checking
- Monthly fee
- $15
- Min. to open
- Not stated
Fee / waiver: $0 with qualifying electronic deposits of $500+ or other listed options.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
Wells Fargo
Everyday Checking
- Monthly fee
- $15
- Min. to open
- Not stated
Fee / waiver: Several ways to avoid the $15 fee (see bank page).
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
U.S. Bank
Bank Smartly Checking
- Monthly fee
- $12
- Min. to open
- $25
- APY
- 0.001%
Fee / waiver: Waived the first two months; other waiver options listed.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
TD Bank
TD Complete Checking
- Monthly fee
- $15
- Min. to open
- Not stated
Fee / waiver: Multiple ways to waive (see bank page); student option for ages 17–23 has no monthly fee.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
Regions Bank
LifeGreen Checking
- Monthly fee
- See bank
- Min. to open
- $25
Fee / waiver: Page lists monthly fee as $0, $8 or $11 depending on statement type and how you avoid it.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Branch bank / credit union · FDIC
Truist
Truist One Checking
- Monthly fee
- $12
- Min. to open
- $50
Fee / waiver: $12 or $0; options to waive listed on page.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
| Bank & account | Monthly fee | How to avoid it / notes | Min. to open | APY | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capital One360 CheckingOnline bank · FDIC | $0 | Tiered-rate interest account (rates effective 10/30/2026 per page); APY values could not be read. Discover checking pages now redirect here. | $0 | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Ally BankSpending AccountOnline bank · FDIC | $0 | — | $0 | 0.25%Base 0.10% | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Charles Schwab BankBank Investor CheckingOnline bank · FDIC | $0 | Opened with a linked Schwab One brokerage account. No foreign transaction fees per page. | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Axos BankAxos ONE CheckingOnline bank · FDIC | $0 | No monthly maintenance, opening, or overdraft fees; no minimum balance (per page). | Not stated | 0.51%Base 0.% | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Varo BankBank AccountApp-based (fintech) · FDIC | $0 | No monthly, minimum balance, or overdraft fees per page. | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| UpgradeRewards Checking PreferredApp-based (fintech) · FDIC | $0 | Free to open, no minimum balance requirement; cash-back debit rewards with conditions. Upgrade is not a bank; deposits held at partner banks. | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| American Express National BankRewards CheckingOnline bank · FDIC | $0 | Applications currently limited to existing Amex Card Members per page. | $0 | 1.00% | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| PenFed Credit UnionFree CheckingOnline bank · NCUA | $0 | No minimum balances per page. Membership required. | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Fifth Third BankMomentum CheckingBranch bank / credit union · FDIC | $0 | No monthly fee, no minimum balance, no minimum deposit per page. | $0 | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Huntington BankAsterisk-Free CheckingBranch bank / credit union · FDIC | $0 | Free to open, no balance requirements per page. | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Navy Federal Credit UnionFree EveryDay CheckingBranch bank / credit union · NCUA | $0 | No monthly service fee, no minimum balance per page. Membership required. | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| ChaseTotal CheckingBranch bank / credit union · FDIC | $15 | $0 with qualifying electronic deposits of $500+ or other listed options. | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Wells FargoEveryday CheckingBranch bank / credit union · FDIC | $15 | Several ways to avoid the $15 fee (see bank page). | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| U.S. BankBank Smartly CheckingBranch bank / credit union · FDIC | $12 | Waived the first two months; other waiver options listed. | $25 | 0.001% | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| TD BankTD Complete CheckingBranch bank / credit union · FDIC | $15 | Multiple ways to waive (see bank page); student option for ages 17–23 has no monthly fee. | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Regions BankLifeGreen CheckingBranch bank / credit union · FDIC | See bank | Page lists monthly fee as $0, $8 or $11 depending on statement type and how you avoid it. | $25 | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| TruistTruist One CheckingBranch bank / credit union · FDIC | $12 | $12 or $0; options to waive listed on page. | $50 | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
How to choose a checking account
Start with fees you would actually pay
A $15 monthly fee is $180 a year. If you can reliably meet a waiver (for example, a direct deposit of a set amount each month), a branch bank can still cost $0. If your income is irregular, a no-fee account removes that risk.
Check ATM and cash access
Online accounts often rely on partner ATM networks and may not accept cash deposits easily. If you handle cash or need cashier’s checks often, a branch nearby can be worth more than a small APY.
Look at overdraft and early-pay features
Some accounts advertise no overdraft fees or early access to direct deposits. These can help, but read the conditions; our table only shows what each bank stated on the page we checked.
Related
Frequently asked questions
How do I avoid a checking account monthly fee?
Either choose an account that states a $0 monthly fee, or meet the bank’s waiver rule every statement cycle. Common waivers are a minimum direct deposit, a minimum daily balance, linked accounts, or being a student or young adult. The rules differ by bank, so read the fee schedule.
Do checking accounts pay interest?
Some do. In our check most stated no interest or a very low rate, while a few online accounts paid more, sometimes only when you meet monthly requirements. Checking is mainly for spending; keep savings in a separate higher-yield account.
What is the difference between a bank and an app like Varo or Upgrade?
Varo is a chartered bank. Upgrade is a fintech company; its deposit accounts are provided by partner banks that are FDIC members. Either way, check who holds your deposits and how insurance applies.
Can I open a checking account with no deposit?
Several accounts in our table state a $0 minimum opening deposit. Where the bank did not state an opening deposit we show “Not stated” rather than assuming zero.
What about overdraft fees?
Overdraft policies vary widely and are not shown in this table unless the bank’s page stated them. The CFPB explains your options, including opting out of overdraft coverage for debit card purchases.