Banking
Compare savings and checking accounts
Quick answer: the highest savings APY we could verify today is 4.20% (Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)), while big branch banks’ standard savings rates can be as low as 0.01%. For checking, 11 of the 17 accounts we checked charge no monthly fee.
Every figure checked on the bank’s or credit union’s own website on . By the SmartRates Editorial Team.
Accounts checked
42
Savings and checking, official pages only
Top verified savings APY
4.20%
Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub) (conditions apply)
Median online savings APY
3.83%
16 online-bank accounts
No-fee checking
11 of 17
State a $0 monthly fee
Start here
Savings accounts →
All 25 savings accounts we checked, with APY, fees, minimums and conditions.
Checking accounts →
17 checking accounts with monthly fees, waiver rules and opening deposits.
Best high-yield savings →
Ranked by verified APY, plus picks with no conditions or minimums.
No-monthly-fee checking →
Accounts that state a $0 monthly fee, and what to watch for.
Online vs traditional banks →
What the rate gap looks like in our data and when branches still win.
National average rates →
FDIC national averages for savings and CDs, updated from official data.
Top savings APYs we verified
Top five by published APY. “Promo” and conditions mean the headline rate needs extra steps or ends after a set period. See all savings accounts.
#1 · Online bank · FDIC
Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)
LevelUp Savings
- APY
- 4.20%Base 3.00%
- Rate as of
- Oct 31, 2026
- Monthly fee
- Not stated
- Min. to open
- $0
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $420
Conditions: 4.20% APY with $250+ in monthly deposits; standard rate 3.00% APY.
lendingclub.com now redirects to happen.com; deposits are provided by Happen Bank, N.A., Member FDIC. Monthly fee not stated on the page we checked.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#2 · Online bank · FDIC
Bread Savings
High-Yield Savings Account
- APY
- 4.05%
- Rate as of
- Nov 1, 2026
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $100
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $405
$100 minimum opening deposit; balances up to $1 million.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#3 · Online bank · FDIC
Axos Bank
Summit Savings
- APY
- 4.01%Promo
- Rate as of
- Nov 1, 2026
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $401
Conditions: 'Up to' rate for up to 6 months includes a 0.26% new-customer boost.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#4 · Online bank · FDIC
UFB Direct
Portfolio Savings
- APY
- 4.01%Promo
- Rate as of
- Not shown
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $401
Conditions: 'Up to' rate for up to 6 months with a promo code.
Page did not show an as-of date for the rate.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
#5 · Online bank · FDIC
Vio Bank
Online Savings Account
- APY
- 4.01%
- Rate as of
- Oct 23, 2026
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $100
- 1 yr on $10,000
- ≈ $401
Conditions: Same APY on all balances.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
| # | Bank & account | APY | Rate as of | Monthly fee | Min. to open | 1 yr on $10,000 | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub)LevelUp SavingsOnline bank · FDIC4.20% APY with $250+ in monthly deposits; standard rate 3.00% APY. | 4.20%Base 3.00% | Oct 31, 2026 | Not stated | $0 | ≈ $420 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 2 | Bread SavingsHigh-Yield Savings AccountOnline bank · FDIC | 4.05% | Nov 1, 2026 | $0 | $100 | ≈ $405 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 3 | Axos BankSummit SavingsOnline bank · FDIC'Up to' rate for up to 6 months includes a 0.26% new-customer boost. | 4.01%Promo | Nov 1, 2026 | $0 | $0 | ≈ $401 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 4 | UFB DirectPortfolio SavingsOnline bank · FDIC'Up to' rate for up to 6 months with a promo code. | 4.01%Promo | Not shown | $0 | $0 | ≈ $401 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| 5 | Vio BankOnline Savings AccountOnline bank · FDICSame APY on all balances. | 4.01% | Oct 23, 2026 | $0 | $100 | ≈ $401 | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
Checking accounts with no monthly fee
Online bank · FDIC
Capital One
360 Checking
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
Tiered-rate interest account (rates effective 10/30/2026 per page); APY values could not be read. Discover checking pages now redirect here.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Online bank · FDIC
Ally Bank
Spending Account
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- $0
- APY
- 0.25%Base 0.10%
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Online bank · FDIC
Charles Schwab Bank
Bank Investor Checking
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
Opened with a linked Schwab One brokerage account. No foreign transaction fees per page.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
Online bank · FDIC
Axos Bank
Axos ONE Checking
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
- APY
- 0.51%Base 0.%
No monthly maintenance, opening, or overdraft fees; no minimum balance (per page).
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
App-based (fintech) · FDIC
Varo Bank
Bank Account
- Monthly fee
- $0
- Min. to open
- Not stated
No monthly, minimum balance, or overdraft fees per page.
Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab)
| Bank & account | Monthly fee | How to avoid it / notes | Min. to open | APY | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capital One360 CheckingOnline bank · FDIC | $0 | Tiered-rate interest account (rates effective 10/30/2026 per page); APY values could not be read. Discover checking pages now redirect here. | $0 | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Ally BankSpending AccountOnline bank · FDIC | $0 | — | $0 | 0.25%Base 0.10% | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Charles Schwab BankBank Investor CheckingOnline bank · FDIC | $0 | Opened with a linked Schwab One brokerage account. No foreign transaction fees per page. | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Axos BankAxos ONE CheckingOnline bank · FDIC | $0 | No monthly maintenance, opening, or overdraft fees; no minimum balance (per page). | Not stated | 0.51%Base 0.% | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
| Varo BankBank AccountApp-based (fintech) · FDIC | $0 | No monthly, minimum balance, or overdraft fees per page. | Not stated | — | Verified Nov 1, 2026Source (official page, opens in a new tab) |
How to choose in three steps
1. Split your money by job
Checking is for bills and spending, so access and low fees matter most. Savings is for your emergency fund and short-term goals, so the APY matters most. Many households end up with checking at a bank they can easily reach and savings at a higher-yield online bank.
2. Read the conditions, not just the headline rate
Several top rates on this page require monthly deposits, a minimum balance, a linked checking account or a promo code, or they drop after a few months. Compare the rate you will actually earn on your balance.
3. Confirm insurance and the transfer path
Check the bank on the FDIC’s BankFind tool (or that a credit union is NCUA-insured), keep each ownership category under $250,000 per bank, and test a small transfer before moving your full balance.
Banking guides
Frequently asked questions
Where do these bank rates come from?
Each APY, fee and minimum was read on the bank’s or credit union’s own public product page on the date shown next to it. When a figure was not visible on the official page we left it blank rather than estimate it.
Is my money safe at an online bank?
Online banks listed here are FDIC members, so deposits are insured up to $250,000 per depositor, per insured bank, for each account ownership category. Credit unions are covered by the NCUA on the same terms. App-based services that are not banks place deposits at partner banks; check which bank holds your money.
Should I keep savings and checking at the same bank?
Not necessarily. Many people keep checking at a bank with branches or ATMs they use and move savings to a higher-yield online account. Transfers between banks usually take one to three business days, so keep a small buffer in checking.
How often is this page updated?
We re-check the official pages regularly and show the verification date on every account. Because banks can change variable rates at any time, always confirm on the bank’s page before opening an account.
Does SmartRates get paid for these listings?
No. Accounts are listed and ordered by the published figures only. If we ever add a paid placement, it will be clearly labeled “Sponsored” and kept separate from these tables.